AFC Communications and Marketing Logo

The Communications and Marketing Commission (CMC) is open to all AFC members and is geared specifically to those in public relations, marketing, graphic and/or web design, development, and communications positions.


  • Responsible for the LeRoy Collins Distinguished Alumni Awards. This event is held every two years and celebrates the achievements of our alumni in the categories of Against All Odds, Hometown Hero, Rising Star, and Lifetime Achievement.
  • The commission's annual fundraising event is the Awards of Excellence. The competition involves all 28 Florida colleges in the categories of print design, web design, marketing, public relations story pitches, commercials, photography, and more.
  • We provide leadership opportunities by becoming a member of the board in the positions of Chair, Chair-Elect, Vice Chair, and Communications Officer.

Quick Links

  1. Executive Board
  2. Announcements
  3. LeRoy Collins Distinguished Alumni Awards
  4. Upcoming Events
  5. Bylaws
  6. Meeting Minutes
  7. Awards and Recognition
  8. Social Media - Get Connected


Greetings Communications and Marketing Commission!

I am excited to welcome you to a new year of professional development and recognition opportunities with the Association of Florida Colleges – Communications and Marketing Commission! 

I am ecstatic to work with all of you as Commission Chair! Our first order of business is to fill some vacancies on the CMC executive board. I’ve included a roster of our current board members as well positions that are currently vacant.

Chair: Johnathan Cooks, North Florida Community College
Chair-Elect: Vacant
Vice Chair: Vacant
Communications Officer: Kelly Hogan, Indian River State College
Immediate Past Chair: Chris Thomes, Gulf Coast State College

I highly encourage everyone to consider taking a leadership role in the commission this year, I speak from experience when I say that the connections and opportunity that come from the experience is invaluable! Please feel to reach out to me if interested.

SAVE–THE–DATE: I am excited to announce that the CMC Spring Conference 2019 will be held April 19, 2019 at Chipola College in beautiful Marianna, Florida! We have formed an exciting partnership with Region I of AFC and I look forward to sharing more details as they become available.

In addition to our annual Spring Conference to look forward to, we also have the annual Awards of Excellence as well as the Prestigious Leroy Collins Distinguished Alumni Awards! More information about both will be shared soon.

I look forward to this upcoming year and hope to see you all involved!

With All Due Respect, 

Johnathan A. Cooks
Chair, Communications and Marketing Commission
325 NW Turner Davis Dr. | Madison, FL 32340
Telephone: 850.973.9406 | Fax: 850.973.1685
[email protected] 


Chair: Jonathan Cooks, North Florida Community College, eMail: [email protected]; Phone: 850-973-9406 

Communications Officer: Kelly Hogan, Indian River State College, eMail: [email protected]; Phone: 772-462-7270


2019 Joint Spring Conference with Region One - (SEE UPCOMING EVENTS BELOW)

2019 CMC AWARDS OF EXCELLENCE: CALL FOR ENTRIES: Call for Entries coming soon!

2019 LEROY COLLINS DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI AWARDS: Nomination Information coming soon!


The CMC is looking for volunteers to help with a re-publishing project of Dr. Walter Smith's book "The Magnificent Twelve: Florida's Black Junior Colleges." Published in 1994, the book has long been out of print and volunteers are needed to re-type chapters, edit, proof, create layouts, gather photos, explore printing options, marketing materials, promotional videos, etc. All proceeds generated by new sales of Dr. Smith’s book (both in print and digital) will be split between the Dr. Walter Smith Library in Tampa and the AFC Foundation.

For more information, contact Chris Thomes at Gulf Coast State College, 850-747-3250 or [email protected]

LeRoy Collins Distinguished Alumni Awards


Lifetime Achievement
Lt. Col. (Ret.) Tessa Angelo Suplee, State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota

Against the Odds
Tangie Archer, St. Johns River State College

Hometown Hero
Dr. Christine Jefferson-Taylor, Indian River State College



Recognizing the need to establish procedures and guidelines as they reflect the rights, responsibilities, and objectives of its membership, the Communications and Marketing Commission hereby adopts these Bylaws and Standing Rules:

Bylaws (Updated 11/2014)


November 8, 2018 Business Meeting Minutes

May 17, 2018 Business Meeting Minutes

November 17, 2017 CMC Board Positions

November 17, 2017CMC Marketing Excellence Notes

November 1, 2017 (Meeting Minutes)

November 12, 2014 (Agenda | Minutes)

November 14, 2013 (Business Meeting Minutes)

Convention 2012 (Notes | Minutes)


2018 CMC Awards of Excellence

2017 CMC Awards of Excellence

2016 CMC Awards of Excellence

2015 CMC Awards of Excellence

2014 CMC Awards of Excellence

2013 CMC Awards of Excellence

LeRoy Collins Recipients Program


AFC Connections is our private interactive forum. Within this forum, we have the Communications and Marketing Commission Community. Please join the community and connect with us today!

How to Join the Communications and Marketing Commission Community:

  1. Visit and click the login button.
  2. Click on the 'My Profile' link.
  3. Click on 'My Features' and select "Circles" - All Circles.
  4. Scroll down to the communications and marketing commission community and select it.
  5. Look to the upper right corner of the page and select 'join circle.'

OR Click on the plug to be taken to the Communications and Marketing Commission Community and then log on to the website and then click Join Circle:

If you have an issue logging on to the site, first try clicking on the forgot my username AND the forgot my password links. Forgot my username will send you an email with your correct username. Forgot my password will send you a link to reset your password.

If your email address is not found on file, please send a message to [email protected] and a staff member will contact you.


CMC 2018 Awards of Excellence