AFC Campus Safety Commission Logo

The mission of the Campus Safety Commission is to provide a collaborative community to address the diverse safety and security needs, situations, practices, policies, and procedures of each of the 28 community and state colleges in Florida.


The Campus Safety Commission was created to provide a collaborative community in which all 28 state-assisted colleges in Florida could discuss and learn from each other’s diverse safety and security needs, situations, practices, policies, and procedures.

Areas of Focus for the Campus Safety Commission:

  • Safety, security and overall wellness of our campus communities
  • Crisis/behavioral intervention, crisis management and suicide prevention
  • Mental health awareness and counseling
  • Emergency management and preparedness
  • Threat assessment and management
  • Campus policing, security, crime and loss prevention
  • Risk management
  • Laws, regulations, and compliance concerns
  • Best practices related to all aspects of campus security and safety

WELCOME - A Message from the 2018 Chair

Greetings from the Chair,

2018 is sure to be an exciting time for the Campus Safety Commission.  The Campus Safety Commission is dedicated to supporting the mission of our great 28 state colleges.

We as a team, are committed to promoting the safety, security and well-being of our members.  We also hope to recognize aspects of campus safety that improve the quality of service we provide in areas such as, Threat assessment, Risk management, Laws, Regulations, Best Practices and many more.

As always, you the members of the commission will play a large part of that goal.  We hope to hear from you often and look forward to serving you in our mission.

Doug Prevatt, College of Central Florida
Manager of Public Safety


  1. Who We Serve
  2. Newsletter
  3. Announcements
  4. Executive Board
  5. Bylaws
  6. Upcoming Events
  7. Get Connected


Who Should Get Involved in the Campus Safety Commission:

  • Campus compliance officials
  • Conduct officers
  • Mental health counselors
  • Faculty members
  • Human resources professionals
  • Risk managers
  • Title IX coordinators
  • Facilities workers
  • College attorneys
  • Campus police and security officers
  • Front-line student support staff


Check out the Premiere Edition of the Campus Safety Commission Newsletter

Campus Safety and Wellness


If you were unable to attend AFC’s Annual Conference, please find the Campus Safety Commission presentation information here:

Comprehensive Approach to Safe and Secure Campuses (PowerPoint)


Chair: Alan Montgomery, Indian River State College, [email protected] , Phone: 772-971-0232

Chair-Elect: Yakir Fernandez, Miami Dade College, [email protected], Phone: 305-237-3774

Immediate Past Chair: Doug Prevatt, College of Central Florida, [email protected], Phone: 352-745-8826 

Secretary: Brenda Rante, Indian River State College, [email protected], Phone: 772-462-7967  

Treasurer: Nancy Jontes-Lee, Daytona State College, [email protected] , Phone: 386-506-3604

Best Practice Chair: Daniel Barto, [email protected], St Petersburg College, 727-341-3051

Region I Representative:  Jonathan Garrett, Pensacola State College, [email protected] 850-791-8730


Recognizing the need to establish procedures and guidelines as they reflect the rights, responsibilities, and objectives of its membership, the Campus Safety Commission hereby adopts these Bylaws:

Campus Safety Commission Bylaws (adopted 2015)




AFC Connections is our private interactive forum. Within this forum, we have the Campus Safety Community. Please join the community and connect with us today!

How to Join the Campus Safety Commission Community:

      1. Visit and click the login button.
      2. Click on the 'My Profile' link.
      3. Click on 'My Features' and select "Circles" - All Circles.
      4. Scroll down to campus safety commission community and select it.
      5. Look to the upper right corner of the page and select 'join circle.'

OR Click on the plug to be taken to the Campus Safety Commission Community and then log on to the website and then click Join Circle:

If you have an issue logging on to the site, first try clicking on the forgot my username AND the forgot my password links. Forgot my username will send you an email with your correct username. Forgot my password will send you a link to reset your password.

If your email address is not found on file, please send a message to [email protected] and a staff member will contact you.