Promotes quality leadership and professional service and seeks solutions on matters relating to faculty.


Welcome from the 2024 Faculty Commission




The Faculty Commission strives to maintain and promote the standards and ideals of the profession. The Commission provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and as well as the discussion of academic and professional issues among faculty around the state.  Commission members provide leadership within the 28 institutions as well as working with the Association of Florida Colleges (AFC) to promote legislative awareness in areas of particular concern to faculty.


  1. Executive Board
  2. Bylaws
  3. Awards and Recognition
  4. Announcements
  5. Newsletter
  6. Previous Award Winners


Chair: Eddie Williams IV, Pasco Hernando State College; Email:[email protected]; Phone: 352-340-4865
Vice President: Mark McKinney, Pasco Hernando State College; Email: [email protected]; Phone: 352-518-1315
Treasurer: Misty Price, Pasco Hernando State College; Email: [email protected]; Phone: 813-527-6879
Secretary: Vacant
Region I Representative: Wanjiku Jackson, Northwest Florida State College; Email: [email protected]; Phone: 352-395-5407
Region II Representative: Helda Montero, Santa Fe College; Email: [email protected]; Phone: 352-395-5407
Region III Representative: Amee U. Mehta, Seminole State College; Email: [email protected]
Region IV Representative: Hanan Hanna, Pasco Hernando State College, Email: [email protected]; Phone: 727-816-3364
Region V Representative:  Ruth Floreal, Palm Beach State College, Email: [email protected]; Phone: 561-868-3823  


Recognizing the need to establish procedures and guidelines as they reflect the rights, responsibilities, and objectives of its membership, the Faculty Commission hereby adopts these Bylaws:  Under review by the 2017 Bylaw Committee.











The call for nominations for the 2023 Professor of the Year is open. For complete instructions and the nomination form please read this attached document.  Email the nomination as a single complete file to the Faculty Commission Chair, Dr. Eddie Williams, Pasco Hernando State College, no later than September 15, 2023. Nominations can be made by any AFC member and supported self-nominations are allowed. Recommendation from a College Administrator is required. 

Mario Mutis, Santa Fe College


The Association of Florida Colleges (AFC) Professor of the Year (POY) is Mario Mutis, Associate Professor in Fine Arts.  Mario gave an outstanding presentation at the 73rd AFC Annual Conference and Meeting, impressing the judges and others in attendance. 

Mario Mutis Recognized At Santa Fe College Board Of Trustees Meeting As AFC Professor Of The Year: Mario Mutis Recognized at Board of Trustees Meeting as AFC Professor of the Year (


Vivian M. Dellinger Award

1998    Vivian M. Dellinger (posthumously)
1999    Jack Motta (Santa Fe Community College)
2000    Irene Lipof (Miami Dade Community College)
2001    Rhonda Allison (Tallahassee Community College)
2002    James Lansing (Broward Community College)
2003    Not Awarded
2004    Jane Howard (Indian River Community College)
2005    Not Awarded
2006    Beverly Grundset (St. Petersburg College)
2007    Will Benedicks (Tallahassee Community College)
2008    Dr. Ana Ciereszko (Miami Dade College)
2009    Byron Todd (Tallahassee Community College)
2010    Margie Robertson (State College of Florida - Manatee~Sarasota)
2011    Not Awarded
2012    Not Awarded
2013    Xiao Wang (Broward College)
2014    Not Awarded
2015    Not Awarded
2016    Not Awarded

Professor of the Year

Michelle Freas, (Santa Fe College)
Jeremy Norton, (Lake-Sumter State College)
2019    Amee Mehta (Seminole State)
2018    Brenda Skoczelas (Lake-Sumter State College)
2017    Amber Karlins (Lake-Sumter State College)
2016    Angel Rodriquez (Broward College)
2015    John Gardner (Chipola College)
2014    Barry Silber, (Hillsborough Community College)
2013    Thom Kieft (Lake-Sumter State College)
2012    Jerry Shawver (Florida State College at Jacksonville)
2011    Gerald Johnston (Santa Fe College)
2010    James May (Valencia College)
2009    Sybil Brown (Lake-Sumter State College)
2008    Susan Taylor (North Florida Community College)