PDF Print Email


Technology Commission

Represents the interests of Florida's community and state college personnel whose job interests include technology related activities or issues. The Technology Commission strives to enhance student learning, improve institutional effectiveness, and promote effective participation in all aspects of technology management, planning, information sharing, eLearning, and innovation.



  1. What We Do
  2. Executive Board
  3. Bylaws
  4. Announcements
  5. Awards and Recognition

Technology: What We Do/Who We Are

Hello, and welcome to the Association of Florida Colleges Technology Commission webpage. Please browse the links on the left for information on Technology Commission events and announcements as well as our bylaws, newsletter, and awards and recognition acknowledging the great work of our AFC commission members.

If you are a Florida college employee and are not already an AFC member, consider joining us and taking advantage of all of the great benefits and opportunities that come with membership!

Executive Board

Chair: Josh Murdock, Valencia College
Phone: 407-582-5223

Chair-Elect: Jason Frank, Santa Fe College 
 Phone: 352-395-5195

Past Chair: James MayValencia College

Secretary: Dana Livesay, Hillsborough CC
 Phone: 813-259-6530

Treasurer:  Donna Bourbeau, Pasco-Hernando State College
Phone: 727-816-3161

Webmaster: Lena Phelps, South Florida State College
Phone: 863-784-7303



Information about upcoming conferences, exemplary practice, and special contests will be posted here. Check back throughout the year for updates.


Join the Technology Commission Circle and our Facebook group to share year around: https://www.facebook.com/groups/afctechnology/.



Join Us at the

67th AFC Annual Meeting & Conference

November 1-4, 2016

@Lake Buena Vista

Commission Sessions

Wednesday, Nov. 2

@ 2:15PM-3:15PM - Technology Commission Business Meeting

Thursday, Nov. 3

@ 9:15AM-10:15AM - Excellence in Technology Award Finalists: My Flipping Hybrid

@ 3:45PM-4:45PM - Technology Commission Presents: Student Technology Conference-Connect Students Through Technology



Recognizing the need to establish procedures and guidelines as they reflect the rights, responsibilities, and objectives of its membership, the Technology Commission hereby adopts these Bylaws:

Technology Commission Bylaws

 Awards and Recognition

 2016 Excellence in Technology Award

2016 Excellence in Technology Finalists

James Robinette, Palm Beach State College 

My Flipping Hybrid uses college-provided Technology. The objective is to meld the flipped classroom with the hybrid presentation. It is a blended 50/50 model that focuses on using the college LMS of Blackboard, Kaltura's streaming server, the Ed-Tech server to deliver materials paired with some 3rd party apps to meet student needs and expectations. Current students expect technology to be used in their college courses and my class uses current college resources to do so. My class focuses on competency-based learning, allows student multiple attempts and removes the "sage on the stage" feeling in order to promote the "guide by the side". I feel the student's success and course involvement increases when vibrant resources are delivered and tied directly to the learning outcomes. My flipped hybrid is full of video instruction and feedback and my teaching style allows flexibility for our non-traditional working adult-learners.

Maya Pakhomova, Pasco-Hernando State College

Student Technology Conference - Connecting Students Through Technology -- Join us as we learn about an exciting initiative at Pasco-Hernando State College, TechCon. This Student Technology Conference has been designed to provide PHSC students with opportunities to experience various technologies and learning strategies to foster active learning and student engagement. We will be exploring the process that was used to organize the event, sharing the resources and conference materials that were produced, showcasing the technology tools that were used to produce these materials, discussing the collaboration among various departments and outside vendors, and looking at methods that were used to evaluate TechCon.



2015 Winners

1st place: Bridge to eResources- Mia Tignor, Indian River State College

2nd place: No more graphing calculators!Brian Macon, Valencia College 

3rd place: Engaging Students through Video Creation and InteractionKendra Auberry, Indian River State College 

 2014 Winner

Virtual Groups: Working Together Without Actually Meeting! - Neal R. Phillips, Ed.D., Valencia College

2012 Winner

Cell Phones in the Classroom: Collaborative or Calamitous? - James May, Valencia College

2010 Winner

Harnessing Web 2.0 to Build a New IRSC FACC Chapter Website - Daniel Hood, Indian River State College

Other finalists:

eLearning Course Organization Model and Rubric for Quality Assurance - Sidney Beitler, Palm Beach State College

Presentations That Fly: Thinking Outside the Slide - Alex Perez, Lake-Sumter Community College

2009 Winners

1st place: Academic Success for Criminal Justice Officers: A Tactical Approach - Adam Martin, South Florida Community College

2nd place: Shifting from Chalkboards to Collaborative Web Pages - Erik Christensen, South Florida Community College

3rd place: Pathways to the Future - Mike Pelitera, Indian River State College