PDF Print Email




Student Development Commission

The mission of the Student Development Commission is to provide professional development and leadership opportunities for student affairs practitioners and others throughout the state who actively encourage students to realize their fullest potential and reach their educational, life and career goals.




  1. What We Do
  2. Executive Board
  3. Bylaws
  4. Newsletter
  5. Announcements
  6. Awards and Recognition



Student Development: What We Do

  • Promote Student Service Programs throughout the regions and statewide
  • Share Ideas and enhance professional development by offering conferences and workshops
  • Discuss common problems and concerns
  • Gather data and conduct surveys relative to various state meetings
  • Coordinate activities with other commissions
  • Acknowledge outstanding student service practices through Exemplary Practice Awards competition
  • Recognize practitioners who are considered exceptionally effective and active in the local AFC chapter as well as the Student Development Commission through special service awards
  • Provide a means for exchange of ideas and an update about regional activities through the publication of our newsletter, The Network.



Executive Board


ChairMelissa Scalzi, Tallahassee Community College
Phone:  850-201-9446

Chair-Elect:  Marjorie McGee, College of Central Florida
Phone: 352-854-2322 x1578

Past Chair:  Joy Raulerson,  Pasco-Hernando State College
Phone:  727-816-3215

Recording Secretary: Jessica White, Pasco-Hernando State College
Phone: 727-816-3764

Treasurer:  Rosebud Leslie, Polk State College
Phone:  863-669-2943

SDC Board


Information about upcoming conferences, exemplary practice, and special contests will be posted here. Check back throughout the year for updates.

Call for 2015 Exemplary Practice Award Submissions

The AFC Student Development Commission is pleased to sponsor the 48th Annual Student Development Commission Exemplary Practice Award. The commission recognizes outstanding programs and professionals in the student development field and invites each Florida college to showcase its best programs.

We ask you to take a few minutes to think about the programs currently in place at your college. If your college has a program considered new and innovative or a program that illustrates exceptional student services, we encourage you to nominate one per campus. The program must have been in existence for at least 12 months prior to your submission.

A group of judges will meet to review the program submissions at the AFC Fall Convention in Destin, Florida on October 28, 2014. Up to four finalists will be asked to present their entry at the 2015 Student Development Commission Spring Conference in Ocala, Florida. Please send your nominations no later than Monday, October 13, 2014. For more information contact Luther Buie.



48th Annual Student Development Conference
May 19-21, 2015, at the College of Central Florida in Ocala.

Save the Date


By-laws and

Standing Rules

Recognizing the need to establish procedures and guidelines as they reflect the rights, responsibilities, and objectives of its membership, the Student Development Commission hereby adopts these By-laws and Standing Rules.






The Student Development Commission Newsletter, The Network, is published electronically four times a year.

The SDC Pre- Convention 2014 Newsletter is here!



Awards and Recognition

The Student Development Commission has established six awards to honor and recognize members of the commission. Click on the links below to view criteria and nomination forms.

Cameron Hall Practitioner Award

Dr. Debra J. Hay Distinguished Award

Dr. Charles R. Dassance Student Development Advancement Award

Student Leader Connection Award

Faculty Connection Award

Exemplary Practice Award - Submit by 10/13/14


powered by MemberClicks