Promotes quality leadership and professional service and seeks solutions on matters relating to faculty.

Welcome - A Message from the 2017 Chair

2016 AFC Faculty Chair, Charlene LatimerHello, my name is Charlene Latimer and I am pleased to serve as your 2017 Faculty Commission Chair. I look forward to an exciting year for Faculty Commission as we network, share best practices through the Professor of the Year exemplary practice awards and other professional development activities.  The Faculty Commission board is energized and looking forward to a banner year.  If you would like to get more involved please contact me or any of the board members.  The theme this year for the Spring Conference is "Strength in Numbers"  join us and let your voice be heard!


The Faculty Commission strives to maintain and promote the standards and ideals of the profession. The Commission provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and as well as the discussion of academic and professional issues among faculty around the state.  Commission members provide leadership within the 28 institutions as well as working with the Association of Florida Colleges (AFC) to promote legislative awareness in areas of particular concern to faculty.



  1. Executive Board
  2. Bylaws
  3. Awards and Recognition
  4. Announcements
  5. Newsletter
  6. Previous Award Winners


Chair: Charlene Latimer, Daytona State College, eMail:; Phone: 386-506-3142

Chair-Elect: Xiao Wang, Broward College, eMail:; Phone: 754-422-9990

Vice Chair: Cynthia Moody, College of Central Florida, eMail:; Phone: 352-535-4655

Secretary: Cynthia Nash, Lake-Sumter State College, eMail:; Phone: 352-435-6343

Treasurer: Florence Bennett, Palm Beach State College, eMail:; Phone: 561-207-5208

Past Chair: Jim Lansing, Broward College, eMail:; Phone: 954-201-2296

Region Representatives:

Region I: Randey Burnette, Tallahassee Community College,; Phone: (850) 201-8194

Region II: Helda Montero, Santa Fe College,; Phone: (352) 395-5407

Region III: Brenda Skoczelas, Lake-Sumter State College,; Phone: (352) 323-3656

Region IV: John Frank, Hillsborough Community College,; Phone: (813) 253-7760

Region V: Dr. Roxanna Anderson, Palm Beach State College,; Phone: (561) 862-4471




Recognizing the need to establish procedures and guidelines as they reflect the rights, responsibilities, and objectives of its membership, the Faculty Commission hereby adopts these Bylaws:  Under review by the 2016 Bylaw Committee.


2016 Professor of the Year Semi-Finalists

This year, the Faculty Commission partnered with the Region III and Health Care Commissions for the Spring Conference that took place at Lake-Sumter State College in Leesburg, FL. The highlight of Faculty Commission Conference has always been the Professor of the Year teaching demonstrations, for which there were five excellent semi-finalists who presented this year. Everyone who attended was inspired by hearing about a wide variety of topics; from microcomputers and the “DinaFlip” method to human services challenges (why it’s important to encourage people to quit smoking) and cognitive psychology to “nosocomial” infections to the flow of energy in our ecosystem. Many thanks to all of the presenters and judges. We invite everyone to attend the three finalists’ teaching demonstrations at the Fall Conference in Lake Buena Vista, FL to be held November 2nd- 4th. Come enjoy the opportunity to learn from fellow AFC colleagues’ teaching styles and methodologies, and hear about a wide variety of academic disciplines. We welcome you!


Left to right: Cynthia Moody, College of Central FL, Vice Chair of the Faculty Commission; Presenters: Hien Nguyen, Miami-Dade College; Patrick Dyer, Indian River State College; Cory Blackwell, Lake-Sumter State College; Angel Rodriguez, Broward College; and, Jana Bernhardt, College of Central FL.

Call for Nominations: Vivian M. Dellinger Award
We are accepting nominations for the Vivian M. Dellinger Outstanding Faculty Member Award until September 30, 2016. Please submit completed form to Charlene Latimer, Faculty Commission Chair, either by email or by mail (address included on form).

Vivian M. Dellinger Nomination Form alt - Due September 30, 2016



Register today for the upcoming AFC Fall Conference in Lake Buena Vista, FL on November 2 - 4, 2016. 




Interested in helping develop the next Faculty Commission Newsletter? Contact Charlene Latimer at



Vivian M. Dellinger Award

1998    Vivian M. Dellinger (posthumously)
1999    Jack Motta (Santa Fe Community College)
2000    Irene Lipof (Miami Dade Community College)
2001    Rhonda Allison (Tallahassee Community College)
2002    James Lansing (Broward Community College)
2003    Not Awarded
2004    Jane Howard (Indian River Community College)
2005    Not Awarded
2006    Beverly Grundset (St. Petersburg College)
2007    Will Benedicks (Tallahassee Community College)
2008    Dr. Ana Ciereszko (Miami Dade College)
2009    Byron Todd (Tallahassee Community College)
2010    Margie Robertson (State College of Florida - Manatee~Sarasota)
2011    Not Awarded
2012    Not Awarded
2013    Xiao Wang (Broward College)
2014    Not Awarded

Professor of the Year

2015    John Gardner (Chipola College)
2014    Barry Silber, (Hillsborough Community College)
2013    Thom Kieft (Lake-Sumter State College)
2012    Jerry Shawver (Florida State College at Jacksonville)
2011    Gerald Johnston (Santa Fe College)
2010    James May (Valencia College)
2009    Sybil Brown (Lake-Sumter State College)
2008    Susan Taylor (North Florida Community College)


AFC Connections Get plugged in to FACULTY on AFC Connections!

AFC Connections is our private interactive forum. Within this forum, we have the Faculty Commission Circle. Please join the circle and connect with us today!

How to Join the Faculty Commission Circle:

Visit and click the login button.
Click on the 'My Profile' link.
Click on 'My Features' and select "Circles" - All Circles.
Choose the Commissions category to isolate only commissions.
Scroll down to the faculty commission circle and select it.
Look to the upper right corner of the page and select 'join circle.'

Click on the plug (AFC Connections) to be taken to the Faculty Commission Circle, enter your login credentials, and click Join Circle once the circle opens.

If you have an issue logging on to the site, first try clicking on the forgot my username AND forgot my password links. Forgot my username will send you an email with your correct username. Forgot my password will send you a link to reset your password.

If your email address is not found on file, please send a message to and a staff member will contact you.