AFC Facilities Commission Logo
The mission of the Facilities Commission is to promote the interests and issues of community college's facilities planning and institutional services.


Facilities Commission Logo

The Facilities Commission was founded in 2006. We provides to our membership a collaborative environment for sharing ideas, experiences, and successes. We promotes best practices and professional development within the multiple disciplines associated with the construction and management of our colleges' facilities



Welcome - A Message from the 2017 Chair

Raymond Coulter Photo











Raymond Coulter, Palm Beach State College
2017 Facilities Commission Chair


Commission Resources

  1. Executive Board
  2. Announcements
  3. Bylaws
  4. Newsletter
  5. Awards and Recognition
  6. Links of Interest
  7. Hot Topics: Trending Now
  8. Social Media - Get Connected


Chair: Raymond Coulter, Palm Beach State College, eMail:; Phone: 561-868-4161

Chair-Elect: TBA, State College, eMail: TBA; Phone: XXX-XXX-XXX

Secretary: TBA, State College, eMail: TBA; Phone: XXX-XXX-XXX

Treasurer: TBA, State College, eMail: TBA; Phone: XXX-XXX-XXX

Best Practice Chair: TBA, State College, eMail: TBA; Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Immediate Past Chair: Jessica Vander Biezen, Santa Fe College, eMail:; Phone: 352-395-5556


Information about upcoming conferences, exemplary practice, and special contests will be posted here. Check back throughout the year for updates.

Call for submissions for the 2017 Exemplary Practice Awards will open soon!

2017 Best Practice Award Criteria (coming soon)


Recognizing the need to establish procedures and guidelines as they reflect the rights, responsibilities, and objectives of its membership, the Facilities Commission hereby adopts these Bylaws and Standing Rules:

Bylaws (Updated 2015)


Please send us success stories for the next edition.  Forward all inquiries to the Chair.

May 2015 Edition


Please check back for more information and updates regarding the 2017 Sustainability Award.


2015 Awards of Excellence in Facilities and Programs

Innovation in Sustainability Award: Indian River State College

CAPA for Collaboration Award: Palm Beach State College

CAPA for Partnership Award: Miami-Dade College


Check back often to see links of interest to Facilities Commission Members

Keep The Wheel Spinning


Campus Safety: How to Secure Campuses without being Restrictive/Gun Laws

Learning Commons: Libraries in the Digital Age are More than Just Books

Active Learning Classroom Environments: Are they Sized Right?

Technology Packed Environments: Are Your Buildings Ready to Accommodate the Demand?

Sustainable Innovation


Like uFacebook Icons on Facebook:




AFC Connections is our private interactive forum. Within this forum, we have the Facilities Commission Community. Please join the community and connect with us today!

How to Join the Facilities Commission Community:

  1. Visit and click the login button.
  2. Click on the 'My Profile' link.
  3. Click on 'My Features' and select "Circles" - All Circles.
  4. Scroll down to the facilities commission community and select it.
  5. Look to the upper right corner of the page and select 'join circle.'

OR Click on the plug to be taken to the Facilities Commission Community and then log on to the website and then click Join Circle:

If you have an issue logging on to the site, first try clicking on the forgot my username AND the forgot my password links. Forgot my username will send you an email with your correct username. Forgot my password will send you a link to reset your password.

If your email address is not found on file, please send a message to and a staff member will contact you.