AFC Communications and Marketing Logo

The Communications and Marketing Commission (CMC) is open to all AFC members and is geared specifically to those in public relations, marketing, graphic and/or web design, development, and communications positions.


Quick Links

  1. Executive Board
  2. Announcements
  3. LeRoy Collins Distinguished Alumni Awards
  4. Upcoming Events
  5. Bylaws
  6. Meeting Minutes
  7. Awards and Recognition
  8. Social Media - Get Connected


  • Responsible for the LeRoy Collins Distinguished Alumni Awards. This event is held every two years and celebrates the achievements of our alumni in the categories of Against All Odds, Hometown Hero, Rising Star, and Lifetime Achievement.
  • The commission's annual fundraising event is the Awards of Excellence. The competition involves all 28 Florida colleges in the categories of print design, web design, marketing, public relations story pitches, commercials, photography, and more.
  • We provide leadership opportunities by becoming a member of the board in the positions of Chair, Chair-Elect, Vice Chair, and Communications Officer.



Greetings from the Communications & Marketing Commission (CMC)! Our group is open to all AFC members and is geared specifically to professionals in Public Relations, Marketing, Advertising, Graphic Design, Media Relations, Communications/Public Information, Resource Development and Institutional Advancement positions. The commission is responsible for the LeRoy Collins Distinguished Alumni Awards, a bi-annual AFC event celebrating the achievements of our alumni in the categories of Against the Odds, Hometown Hero, Rising Star and Lifetime Achievement.

The commission also coordinates the annual Awards of Excellence, in which all 28 Florida colleges are encouraged to submit their best work in the categories of print and online design, public relations story pitches, videos, photography, social media and more. The awards highlight outstanding professional work and allows members to see what other colleges are doing, compare notes and garner ideas and best practices to use in our own colleges.

The benefits central to all commissions include networking, fellowship and camaraderie, but CMC adds specific opportunities such as connecting with other professionals in similar communications positions as well as professional development workshops during the spring conference and the annual convention. Previous sessions have included designing college-wide campaigns, capitalizing on social media, implementing best practices in online/mobile design, and media relations within the communities we serve.

And last, but not least, there are leadership opportunities by becoming a member of the board in the position of Chair, Chair-Elect, Vice-Chair and Communications Officer.

If you have any questions or comments about the commission, please contact me on my direct line at (850) 747-3250 or I look forward to working with you!



Chair: Chris Thomes, Gulf Coast State College, eMail:; Phone: 850-747-3250

Chair-Elect: Jonathan Cooks, North Florida Community College, eMail:; Phone: 850-973-9406

Vice Chair/Treasurer: Kelly Hogan, Indian River State College, eMail:; Phone: 772-462-7270

Immediate Past Chair: Shelia Nicols, Pensacola State College, eMail:; Phone: 850-484-1428

Communications Officer: Deborah Bell Latter, South Florida State College, eMail:; Phone: 863-784-7251



The CMC is looking for volunteers to help with a re-publishing project of Dr. Walter Smith's book "The Magnificent Twelve: Florida's Black Junior Colleges." Published in 1994, the book has long been out of print and volunteers are needed to re-type chapters, edit, proof, create layouts, gather photos, explore printing options, marketing materials, promotional videos, etc. All proceeds generated by new sales of Dr. Smith’s book (both in print and digital) will be split between the Dr. Walter Smith Library in Tampa and the AFC Foundation.

For more information, contact Chris Thomes at Gulf Coast State College, 850-747-3250 or

2018 CMC Awards of Excellence

Look for entry information June 2018.

LeRoy Collins Distinguished Alumni Awards

Nomination information to come Spring 2019.



Lifetime Achievement
Lt. Col. (Ret.) Tessa Angelo Suplee, State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota

Against the Odds
Tangie Archer, St. Johns River State College

Hometown Hero
Dr. Christine Jefferson-Taylor, Indian River State College


Spring Super Conference: Student Development Commission and Communications & Marketing Commission


What: Communications & Marketing Commission Spring Conference (hosted jointly with the Student Development Commission)
Gulf Coast State College (Main Campus, Panama City, FL)
May 15-17, 2018
More Information and Registration


Recognizing the need to establish procedures and guidelines as they reflect the rights, responsibilities, and objectives of its membership, the Communications and Marketing Commission hereby adopts these Bylaws and Standing Rules:

Bylaws (Updated 11/2014)


November 17, 2017 CMC Board Positions
November 17, 2017CMC Marketing Excellence Notes
November 1, 2017 (Meeting Minutes)
November 12, 2014 (Agenda | Minutes)
November 14, 2013 (Business Meeting Minutes)
Convention 2012 (Notes | Minutes)



2016 CMC Awards of Excellence

2015 CMC Awards of Excellence

2014 CMC Awards of Excellence

2013 CMC Awards of Excellence

LeRoy Collins Recipients Program


AFC Connections is our private interactive forum. Within this forum, we have the Communications and Marketing Commission Community. Please join the community and connect with us today!

How to Join the Communications and Marketing Commission Community:

  1. Visit and click the login button.
  2. Click on the 'My Profile' link.
  3. Click on 'My Features' and select "Circles" - All Circles.
  4. Scroll down to the communications and marketing commission community and select it.
  5. Look to the upper right corner of the page and select 'join circle.'

OR Click on the plug to be taken to the Communications and Marketing Commission Community and then log on to the website and then click Join Circle:

If you have an issue logging on to the site, first try clicking on the forgot my username AND the forgot my password links. Forgot my username will send you an email with your correct username. Forgot my password will send you a link to reset your password.

If your email address is not found on file, please send a message to and a staff member will contact you.