The LeRoy Collins Distinguished Alumni Awards are held every two years to give colleges the opportunity to recognize those that inspire and excel in our communities.  Each college is eligible to submit one nominee:

  1. Lifetime Achievement Award
    Recognizing a true success story in a state or national arena
  2. Rising Star Award
    Recognizing an individual under 40 years of age who is demonstrating rising success in their community
  3. Against the Odds Award
    Recognizing an individual who has achieved a measure of success despite adversity (financial, sociological, physical, etc.)
  4. Hometown Hero
    Recognizing an individual who has made a demonstrably notable impact within the nominating college’s district

There is a $250 nomination fee to participate in the LeRoy Collins Awards, payable online or by check. 

The award recipients in the four categories will be honored during the Presidential Gala Dinner at the AFC Annual Conference in Orlando, FL. The colleges of the award recipients will be required to produce a two-minute video about their nominee. The videos will be shown at the dinner; the Communications & Marketing Commission will coordinate the final video presentation.

While all nominees are invited to the gala, only the four winners are required to attend. Each college will have the responsibility of arranging and funding their nominee’s travel, lodging, and meals.

All nominees will be honored at a reception prior to the banquet.

View Full Entry Guidelines Here

The deadline for nominations is Sept. 25, 2023. The nomination form is below.

LeRoy Colling Distinguished Alumni Nomination Form

For additional information about the LeRoy Collins Awards, please contact Rachel Cote, AFC Communications and Marketing Commission Chair, at [email protected] or 352-873-5800, ext. 1373.