Promotes professional growth and exchange of information among the career and professional (non-administrative, non-faculty) employees.

Welcome - A Message from the 2018 Chair

Greetings CPEC,

 It is such a great time for our commission. I am very elated to serve as the 2018 Career and Professional Employee Commission. I am looking forward to working with you this year as we make sure that our Mission is Possible by all of us Getting in the Game to take this Commission to higher heights. We must work together as a team and with that being said I would like to thank the following people for their guidance and time in helping me.

 Our Past Chairs: Matt Wetzel, Kim Baker, Tracy Glidden & Cara Bennett. I would like to challenge my E-Board to join in this fight with me. I am grateful that I have the following to work with me:

Katie Profeta (2018 Chair- Elect)
Kathryn Bauernfeind (Treasurer)
Jennifer Lewallen (Secretary)

Thanks for your support in making the Career and Professional Employee Commission the Commission of the Year in 2018!!!

Gregory Williams, CCP
Association of Florida Colleges
Career & Professional Employee Commission Chair - 2018
Tallahassee Community College
Phone: (850) 201-8361
Email: [email protected]

Learn more about CPEC by watching our CPEC 101 presentation!

Commission Resources

  1. News
  2. Announcements
  3. Executive Board
  4. Bylaws
  5. Minutes and Reports
  6. Get Connected


The 2018 Career and Professional Employee Commission Awards are ready for submissions. Below is the listing of awards. For eligibility requirements and submission forms, please click on each listing.
- 2018 Innovators Exemplary Practice Award
- 2018 Educational Scholarship Award
- 2018 Career and Professional Employee of the Year Award

Submissions are due by October 5th!  If you have any questions, feel free to contact:

Kimberly Baker, CPEC Awards Chair
Hillsborough Community College
[email protected]

2017 CPEC Award Winners:

Essay Award: Kathy Fields, State College of Florida, Bradenton Campus



Book Scholarship Award: Margaret Bronson, Tallahassee Community College






Unsung Hero Award: Gregory Williams, Tallahassee Community College











Employee of the Year: Cara Bennett, College of Central Florida




Exemplary Practice Winner: Summer Washington. Tallahassee Community College

Congratulations to Our CPEC Board Members who were selected for the 2017 Distinguish Service Awards:




Dana Livesay, Hillsborough Community College





Sharon Walker, Tallahassee Community College





Gregory Williams, Tallahassee Community College




From left to right: 2016 CPEC Chair Kim Baker, Dana Livesay, Sharon Walker, 2017 AFC President Robert Flores, 2017 CPEC Chair Matt Wetzel & Gregory Williams



Chair: Greg Williams, Tallahassee Community College; eMail: [email protected]; Phone: 850-201-8361

Chair-Elect: Katie Profeta, Indian River State College; eMail: [email protected]; Phone: 772-462-7629

Immediate Past Chair: Matt Wetzel, Florida State College of Jacksonville, eMail: [email protected] Phone: 904-633-8184

Secretary: Jennifer Lewallen, Pasco-Hernando State College, eMail:[email protected] Phone: 727-816-3226

Treasurer: Kathy Bauernfeind, Eastern Florida State College, eMail: [email protected]; Phone: 321-433-5502

Historian: Cara Benett, College of Central Florida; eMail: [email protected]; Phone: 352-854-2322 x1447

Parliamentarian: Mark Ross, College of Central Florida; eMail: [email protected]; Phone: 352-291-4419

Webmaster: Obi Kalu, Pensacola State College; eMail: [email protected]; Phone: 850-484-2374

Region I Representative: Sharlon Walker, Tallahassee Community College; eMail:[email protected]; Phone: 850-201-6148

Region II Representative: Carol Pugh, Santa Fe College; eMail: [email protected]; Phone: 352-395-5365

Region III Representative: Cristen Jacobsen, Eastern Florida State College; eMail: [email protected]; Phone: 321-433-5957

Region IV Representative: Shertha Arrington, Polk State College; eMail: [email protected]; Phone: 863-669-2943

Region V Representative: Kimberlie Massnick, Indian River State College; eMail: [email protected]; Phone: 772-462-7966


Recognizing the need to establish procedures and guidelines as they reflect the rights, responsibilities, and objectives of its membership, the Career and Professional Employees Commission hereby adopts these Bylaws:

CPEC Bylaws alt


CPEC Board Meeting Minutes 11/1/17

CPEC Business Meeting 11/2/17

CPEC Board Meeting Minutes 12/13/17

CPEC Board Meeting Minutes, 5/16/16 alt

Treasurer's Report, 4/16/16 alt

CPEC Board Meeting Minutes alt (2016 Spring Conference)

Treasurer's Report, 12/31/15 alt

CPEC Membership Meeting Minutes alt (2015 Annual Conference)

CPEC Board Meeting Minutes alt (2015 Annual Conference)

CPEC Board Meeting Minutes alt (2015 Pre-Annual Conference)


Facebook Join us on Facebook!

AFC Connections Get plugged in to CPEC on AFC Connections!

AFC Connections is our private interactive forum. Within this forum, we have the Career and Professional Employees Circle. Please join the circle and connect with us today!

How to Join the Career and Professional Employees Commission Circle:

Visit http://www.myafchome.org and click the login button.
Click on the 'My Profile' link.
Click on 'My Features' and select "Circles" - All Circles.
Choose the Commissions category to isolate only commissions.
Scroll down to career and professional employees commission circle and select it.
Look to the upper right corner of the page and select 'join circle.'

Click on the plug (AFC Connections) to be taken to the Career and Professional Employees Commission Circle, enter your login credentials, and click Join Circle once the circle opens.

If you have an issue logging on to the site, first try clicking on the forgot my username AND forgot my password links. Forgot my username will send you an email with your correct username. Forgot my password will send you a link to reset your password.

If your email address is not found on file, please send a message to [email protected] and a staff member will contact you.