AFC Campus Safety Commission Logo

The mission of the Campus Safety Commission is to provide a collaborative community to address the diverse safety and security needs, situations, practices, policies, and procedures of each of the 28 community and state colleges in Florida.


The Campus Safety Commission was created to provide a collaborative community in which all 28 state-assisted colleges in Florida could discuss and learn from each other’s diverse safety and security needs, situations, practices, policies, and procedures.

Areas of Focus for the Campus Safety Commission:

  • Safety, security and overall wellness of our campus communities
  • Crisis/behavioral intervention, crisis management and suicide prevention
  • Mental health awareness and counseling
  • Emergency management and preparedness
  • Threat assessment and management
  • Campus policing, security, crime and loss prevention
  • Risk management
  • Laws, regulations, and compliance concerns
  • Best practices related to all aspects of campus security and safety

WELCOME - A Message from the 2021 Chair

Check back soon for a greeting from the 2021 Campus Safety Commission Chair, Daniel Barto.



  1. Who We Serve
  2. Newsletter
  3. Announcements
  4. Executive Board
  5. Bylaws
  6. Upcoming Events


Who Should Get Involved in the Campus Safety Commission:

  • Campus compliance officials
  • Conduct officers
  • Mental health counselors
  • Faculty members
  • Human resources professionals
  • Risk managers
  • Title IX coordinators
  • Facilities workers
  • College attorneys
  • Campus police and security officers
  • Front-line student support staff


Check out the Premiere Edition of the Campus Safety Commission Newsletter

Campus Safety and Wellness


If you were unable to attend AFC’s Annual Conference, please find the Campus Safety Commission presentation information here:

Comprehensive Approach to Safe and Secure Campuses (PowerPoint)


Chair: Daniel Barto, [email protected], St Petersburg College, 727-341-3051

Immediate Past Chair: Yakir Fernandez, Miami Dade College, [email protected], Phone: 305-237-3774

Secretary: Nancy Jontes-Lee, Daytona State College, [email protected] , Phone: 386-506-3604



Recognizing the need to establish procedures and guidelines as they reflect the rights, responsibilities, and objectives of its membership, the Campus Safety Commission hereby adopts these Bylaws:

Campus Safety Commission Bylaws (adopted 2015)