The Florida College System Policy & Advocacy Committee Friday, June 6, 2014 Reunion Resort Orlando, Florida

MINUTES

Welcome and Call to Order

Dr. Jim Henningsen, COP Chair, called the meeting of the Policy and Advocacy Committee to order at approximately 9:06 a.m. on Friday, June 6, 2014 at the Reunion Resort in Orlando, Florida.

The following members of the Policy and Advocacy Committee were present:

Dr. Dennis Gallon Dr. Jim Henningsen Mr. David Armstrong Dr. Katherine Johnson Dr. Jason Hurst Dr. Ed Meadows Dr. Carol Eaton Dr. Jackson Sasser Dr. Ann McGee Dr. Jeff Allbritten Dr. Chuck Hall Dr. Thomas Leitzel Dr. Cynthia Bioteau Dr. Carol Probstfeld Dr. Ed Massey Dr. Bill Law Mr. John Grosskopf Dr. Sandy Shugart Dr. Ty Handy

Also present were:
Mr. Randy Hanna
Ms. Julie Alexander
Dr. John Holdnak
Ms. Lisa Cook
Ms. Lisa Cook

Mr. Michael Brawer
Ms. Sharon Crow
Mr. Steve Schroeder
Mr. Eric Johnson
Ms. Ana Sanchez
Mr. Andy Treadwell
Ms. Victoria Hernandez
Mr. Scott Balog
Ms. Erin McColskey

Mr. Peter Usinger
Mr. Dick Scott
Ms. Petra Kohlman-Sanchez
Ms. Ashley Carl
Ms. Cindy Hewitt
Mr. Chauncey Fagler
Mr. Jay Galbraith
Mr. LeRoy Darby
Ms. Ms. Linda Miedema
Mr. Joe Sarnovsky
Dr. Debbie Douma

Ms. Tami Cullens Ms. Stacey Webb

Recorder: Tina Ingramm

1.0 Approval of Minutes

1.1 Approval, Policy & Advocacy Meeting Minutes, April 11, 2014

Action: Upon a motion by Dr. Dennis Gallon and a second by Dr. Katherine Johnson the minutes of the April 11, 2014 meeting of Policy & Advocacy Committee were approved without objection.

2.0 2014 Substantive Issues

Dr. Jim Henningsen reported a performance funding model group needs to be formed. Those interested should email Dr. Henningsen no later than June 15th. The final recommendations are due by December 31st.

He added the legislative budget request is being crafted. Dr. Sandy Shugart suggested asking for core funding, not funding the model. President Armstrong asked that a group be formed to look at modifying the formula and how resources are allocated in the system. He also suggested a workshop be held on the funding formula for the new presidents. Dr. Carol Probstfeld volunteered to chair this group. The other members of the group include Dr. Sandy Shugart, Dr. Jeff Allbritten, Dr. Carol Eaton, Dr. Ann McGee, Dr. Ed Massey, Dr. Ed Meadows and Dr. Cynthia Bioteau. Chancellor Hanna suggested the performance funding group and the funding formula group work together.

Dr. Jim Henningsen reported the Governmental Relations position is being looked into for the upcoming session.

3.0 2014-15 Policy and Advocacy Committee Chair

Dr. Henningsen announced Dr. Carol Probstfeld has volunteered to serve as the 2014-15 Policy and Advocacy Committee Chair.

<u>Action:</u> Upon a motion by Dr. Dennis Gallon and a second by Mr. John Grosskopf, Dr. Carol Probstfeld to serve as the 2014-15 Policy and Advocacy Committee Chair was approved without objection.

Dr. Jim Henningsen adjourned the Policy and Advocacy Committee meeting at approximately 9:19 a.m. without objection.