### The Florida College System **Council of Presidents** Friday, October 23, 2015 **TCC Capitol Center** Tallahassee, Florida

# **MINUTES**

### Welcome and Call to Order

Dr. Carol Probstfeld, COP Chair, called the meeting of the Council of Presidents to order at approximately 9:06 a.m. on Friday, October 23, 2015 at TCC Capitol Center in Tallahassee, Florida

The following members of the Council of Presidents were present:

Dr. Ed Meadows Dr. Jason Hurst Dr. Jim Henningsen Dr. Tom LoBasso Dr. Jim Richey Dr. Lawrence Barrett Dr. Jonathan Gueverra Dr. Cynthia Bioteau Dr. John Holdnak Dr. Ken Atwater Dr. Chuck Mojock	Mr. John Grosskopf Dr. Ty Handy Dr. Ava Parker Dr. Tim Beard Dr. Eileen Holden Dr. Jackson Sasser Dr. Ann McGee Dr. Thomas Leitzel Dr. Carol Probstfeld Dr. Jim Murdaugh
Also present were: Ms. Madeline Pumariega Dr. Chris Mullin Ms. Lisa Cook Ms. Judy Green Ms. Wendy Sikora	Ms. Abbey Ivey Mr. Corey Jones Ms. Shelly Ford Mr. Andy Barnes Ms. Suzanne Tart
Mr. Michael Brawer Mr. Greg Haile Mr. Eric Johnson Mr. Andy Treadwell Ms. Victoria Hernandez Mr. Steve Schroeder Ms. Sandy Ceseretti Ray	Mr. Jack Hall Mr. Ed Woodruff Mr. Liam McClay Mr. Scott Balog
Dr. Dan Rodkin Mr. Don Payton Dr. Naima Brown Mr. Chauncey Fagler Ms. Sheryl Vittitoe Ms. Petra Kohlman Mr. Anthony Iacono Mr. Richard Becker	Mr. Keith Houck Dr. Judy Bilsky Ms. Daria Leon Dr. Kathleen Plinske Mr. Joseph Sarnovsky Mr. Jon Poole Ms. Kelly Warren <b>Ms. KiasoBgco</b> Butler

Recorder: Tina Ingramm-Ward

## **1.0** Welcome and Comments

### 2.0 Approval of Minutes

Mr. Greg Haile requested his name be added to the minutes.

### 2.1 Approval of Minutes, September 18, 2015

<u>Action</u>: Upon a motion by Dr. John Holdnak and a second by Dr. Chuck Mojock, the amended minutes of the September 18, 2015 meeting of Council of Presidents were approved without objection.

### 3.0 Report of the Chair, Dr. Carol Probstfeld

Dr. Carol Probstfeld reported Dr. Ty Handy has accepted a position outside of Florida leaving the liaison position with the FCSAA vacant. Dr. Tom LoBasso has expressed interest in filling the position.

<u>Action</u>: Upon a motion by Dr. Thomas Leitzel and a second by Dr. Jim Henningsen, the liaison position with the FCSAA to be filled by Dr. Tom LoBasso was approved without objection.

Dr. Probstfeld added Dr. Jeff Allbritten will be added as a Co-Chair to the Marketing Committee.

### 3.1 Approval, Assessment of the Funding Formula Report

Mr. Keith Houck referred to the handout entitled <u>Assessment of the Funding Formula</u> (Attachment A.) He reported he has been working with COBA on the funding formula. He added legislative staff is interested in a funding formula that has credibility and better allocates funds. Dr. Carol Probstfeld asked Mr. Houck to bring a skeleton model to the January meeting.

## 3.2 2015 James L. Wattenbarger Award Voting

Dr. Probstfeld reported voting for the 2015 James L. Wattenbarger closes today.

#### 4.0 Report of the Chancellor, The Division of Florida Colleges

Chancellor Pumariega reported the State Board of Education will be meeting October 28<sup>th</sup>.

She invited the colleges to participate in Achieving the Dream.

Chancellor Pumariega referred to the handouts entitled <u>Florida College System Fixed</u> <u>Capital Outlay (Attachment A.)</u> She reported the Division staff reviewed college Capital Improvement Plan (CIP) information and identified each college's top surveyrecommended priority. All projects which have been appropriated state funds and need additional funds to complete have also been included, and result in a few colleges having more than one project. In cases where a college had a high priority project (not funded) plus a previously funded project, the previously funded project was selected as that college's one project. Dr. Jim Henningsen asked how projects were prioritized. The Chancellor stated the projects are prioritized using five metrics: return on investment, program, college priority order, age and percentage of funding available. Dr. Ken Atwater stated the colleges have a critical need for funds to remodel current buildings.

## Report of the Chancellor, Division of Career and Technical Education

Ms. Wendy Sikora reported recommendations for additions to the 2015 PSICFL have been received and the PSICFL will be presented to the State Board of Education next week for approval.

Ms. Sikora also reported 36 new certifications have been added to the 2015-16 CAPE Industry Certification funding list (secondary). These certifications are currently being reviewed by college faculty for opportunities to articulate into AS programs.

She added review of the Perkins Grant programs of study have been completed for all agencies that have submitted a grant. The funds will be released in six weeks.

## 5.0 Committee and Task Force Reports

# 5.1 Articulation Coordinating Committee

No Report

## 5.2 Florida College System Risk Management Consortium

Dr. Jim Henningsen referred to the handout entitled <u>Risk Management Council</u> <u>Meeting</u> (Attachment B.) He reported there is one action item to be discussed and ratified.

Mr. Fagler reported the Florida Treasury has modified the SPIA investment program as outlined in **Attachment B**. He added Santa Fe College has already approved this change due to the federal deadline and asked the Council for ratification.

<u>Action</u>: Upon a motion by Dr. Ann McGee and a second by Dr. John Holdnak, the SPIA revised agreement as presented in Attachment B was ratified without objection.

## 5.3 Funding Formula Workgroup

Previously Covered

## 5.4 Media and Public Relations Committee

Ms. Abby Whiddon reported the Committee is working on individual college rack cards.

## 5.5 FCSAA

Ms. Daria Leon referred to the handout entitled <u>2015 Pre Legislative Platform</u> (Attachment C.) She reported the FCSSGA's legislative platform is still in draft form.

Ms. Kelly Warren referred to the handout entitled <u>Florida College System Activities</u> <u>Association</u> (Attachment D.) She reported the FCSAA Hall of Fame will take place on November 13 in Orlando. Ms. Warren stated several colleges will be starting new athletic teams.

Ms. Warren also introduced the FCSAA strategic plan and asked for suggestions to be emailed to her.

Dr. Ann McGee announced Seminole State College women's golf won the NJCAA championship.

## 5.6 Support Council Reports

## 5.6.1 CIA

Mr. Anthony Iacono reported CIA recently met in conjunction with CSA. At the meeting, CIA and CSA discussed the lack of intact testing for students. CIA and CSA will bring a recommendation to the Council soon.

## 5.6.2 COBA

No Report

5.6.3 CSA

Dr. Naima Brown reported CSA will hold their next meeting in February in Ocala.

## 5.6.4 FCRD

Dr. Carol Probstfeld reported the FCRD report is available online.

## 6.0 AFC Report

Dr. Dan Rodkin reported the AFC Annual Meeting and Conference will take place November 11-13 in Orlando. He added the Chair Academy will hold a session prior to the Annual Meeting on November 9-11.

Dr. Rodkin also reported the AFC Board of Directors approved a new provisional commission called the Campus Safety Commission.

Mr. Michael Brawer referred to the handout entitled <u>2015 Trustees Commission Annual</u> <u>Meeting</u> (Attachment E.) He reported the Trustees Commission meeting will take place November 11-12.

## 7.0 Other Business

Dr. Probstfeld reported there are a large number of at-large positions on the SACS board open. She asked the presidents to consider a nomination.

Dr. Carol Probstfeld adjourned the Council of Presidents meeting at approximately 10:33 a.m. without objection.