The Florida College System Council of Presidents Friday, May 16, 2014 Conference Call

MINUTES

Welcome and Call to Order

Mr. John Grosskopf, COP Chair, called the conference call of the Council of Presidents meeting to order at approximately 9:01 a.m. on Friday, May 16, 2014.

The following members of the Council of Presidents were on the call:

Mr. John Grosskopf Dr. Dennis Gallon Mr. David Armstrong Dr. Katherine Johnson Dr. Carol Eaton Dr. Ann McGee Dr. Jeff Allbritten Dr. Thomas Leitzel Dr. Chuck Hall Dr. Carol Probstfeld Dr. Ken Atwater Mr. Joe Pickens Dr. Ed Massey Dr. Jim Murdaugh Dr. Chuck Mojock Dr. Sandy Shugart Dr. Ty Handy

Di. Ty Handy

Also present were:

Mr. Randy HannaMr. Peter ElliottDr. Judy BilskyDr. Ed BonahueMr. E.H. LeveringMs. Linda MiedemaMr. Michael BrawerMs. Stacey Webb

Recorder: Tina Ingramm

1.0 Call to Order

2.0 Legislative Summary

Mr. Michael Brawer referred to the handout entitled <u>2014 Florida College System</u> <u>Legislative Session Final Report</u> (**Attachment A.**) Ms. Stacey Webb reported tuition for undocumented students passed late in the session.

Dr. Ken Atwater asked for the budget to be reviewed. Ms. Webb reported \$5 million in new operational funding will be run through the Funding Allocation Model. The Legislature also provided approximately \$15.5 million in compression. Dr. Atwater how the legislators came up with the funding amounts. Chancellor Hanna stated no one thing led to the appropriation. Dr. Ed Massey stated the message got lost throughout the session and there is work to do before the next legislative session.

3.0 2014 COP Annual Meeting Agenda Update

Mr. Michael Brawer reported the June meeting will follow the standard agenda. Mr. Grosskopf stated the third year of the Florida First Plan will be reviewed and updated, as needed, at the June meeting.

4.0 Other Business

Dr. Ann McGee reported she is the current Florida College System Foundation Chair. The Foundation is interested in discussing new matching programs.

5.0 Adjourn